Mississippi’s New Animal Cruelty Law Celebrated by Activists for Holding Abusers Accountable
Under the new law, signed by Governor Tate Reeves in early July, animal abusers will be charged with a felony on their first offense of aggravated cruelty
By Kelli Bender
July 13, 2020 05:46 PM
Mississippi, once criticized for animal protection laws that allowed animal abusers to get a ” slap on the wrist for some of the most heinous acts of cruelty imaginable,” is being celebrated for its new animal cruelty law.
Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves signed Senate Bill No. 2658, introduced by Sen. Angela Hill, into law at the start of July, reports WCBI. Under this new legislation, animal abusers will be charged with a felony on their first offense of aggravated cruelty. Additionally, they will face a count of felony aggravated cruelty for each animal harmed.
“For too long, criminals have been getting away with a slap on the wrist for some of the most heinous acts of cruelty imaginable,” Doll Stanley, In Defense of Animals’ Justice for Animals campaign director, said in a statement. “Now Mississippi finally has an animal cruelty law with teeth that gives law enforcement, prosecutors, and judges the authority to hold animal abusers accountable for their unspeakable acts of cruelty.”
The new legislation also doubles the penalties for a second felony offense, with second-time offenders now facing up to $10,000 in fines and/or up to 10 years in prison.